Some of what I’ve been working on lately…

Greetings everyone!  I hope this new year will be great for you all!

I *was* going to enter the Ambush Alley Games “Strike Force” contest with these forces.  Then I saw the paint jobs on the competition and realized I was sorely outclassed in painting skills.  However, I will provide a band-aid to my vanity and show the pictures off in my Blog.  I paint things so they look okay on the table for gaming.  I don’t think I will ever be a contest-winning artist.  However, I do have fun with it and that is what really counts! (I keep telling myself that…)

Here is my first completed force: A strike force for the “Order of St. Mauricius”, the military arm of the “Primacy of Alterarum Terrarum”, also known as “church space” in the “Tomorrow’s War” rulebook.  This is a region of space with worlds colonized by the Catholic Church.

I am preparing a campaign on a planet where the Order of St. Mauricius is being used as the “bad guys” to overthrow a successful colonial rebellion.  Thus, I needed a coherent-looking armed force.  I wanted them in reddish colors and found that “rust red” paint ended up looking pretty good.

The Order of St. Mauricius Strike Force

The forces of the Order of St. Mauricius, at least how I am developing them, include “Indoctrinators”, armed deacons who work to keep the morale of their squads burning at a fever pitch.  Sort of like “”Commisars” from the Soviet Union and certain “not-to-be-named” games…  I used Rebel Mini’s “Gun Clerics” for those figures.  The rest of the OSM infantry figs are Rebel Minis “Earth Forces Drop Troopers”.

Closeup of 2 Scout Squads and their Grav Scout APCs

The vehicles in the force came from Combat Wombat Miniatures and from Matchbox Cars.

Closeup of Scout Squad Baker 9 - note the military crest for the Order on the nose of the Grav APC

Closeup of Recon Squad Able 5 - including Armed Combat Bot

My force needed some infantry heavy weapons and Rebel Minis didn’t provide anything suitable, so I added some “combat bots”  by raiding my supply of re-based power-armored figures from “Mechwarrior Dark Age”.  The arm/leg length ratio on the MDA figure is not really proportional for a 15mm scale human, but if you say it is a humanoid combat drone carrying heavy weapons then it fits right in.

Note the small gun poking out of the lower front of the wheeled APCs.  I added this to make them “armed” as opposed to “unarmed”, plus it fills a rivet hole in the Matchbox “Armored Response Vehicle”.

The "Armored Fist" of the Strike Force - Grav Tanks via Combat Wombat

The heavy punch of the strike force is provided by two Medium Grav Tanks and three Heavy Grav Tanks.  These units can be either hammer or anvil as needed.  They are also fun to paint.

A look down the line of the Strike Force

Now, I have been playing around with “alien” concepts too.  I had some lucky finds when shopping at “Recruits” and bought a batch of “Battlestations” miniatures.  I thought they would make great “Tomorrow’s War” aliens that did not look like “men in rubber suits”.  Thus I created the “Nirs Empire”, a multi-species polity that human space is just about to start bumping up against.  None of the species in the Nirs Empire are humanoid at all…

Exploratory force of the Nirs Empire

The “Battlestations” “Canosian Marines” are heart of the Nirs Empire forces.  They are backed up by the physically stronger, six-limbed “Xeloxians”, who even have some power-armored figures.

The Nirs Scout Marines (from Battlestations Canosian Marines)

Closeup of the Nirs Heavy Weapons units (from Battlestations Xeloxians)

Another Closeup of the Nirs Heavy Weapons Unit, because I liked the picture

So that is some of what I have been playing with.  There will be more soon!

Thanks for looking!

3 Responses to Some of what I’ve been working on lately…

  1. PMMDJ says:

    Love the unified paint theme for the Order. Keep it up!

  2. Nice! I particularly like the use of that MechWarrior Kanazuchi Battle Armor figure for heavy weapons bots. I used them for “terminators” in my 15mm Space Hulk style game.

  3. Dan says:

    Really like those Nirs, Khurasan has some figs that would fit right into that mixed race force, the colours for the strick force work well to.

Leave a Reply

